Anti-Hazing Hero Award


  • Anti-Hazing Heroes

  • Hank Nuwer Anti-Hazing Hero Award

    Do you know someone who has been heroic enough to expose hazing, speak out against this problem, or in some way work to combat this dangerous practice? Then nominate them for the Anti-Hazing Hero Award. Awards will be given in both student and non-student categories, and recipients will receive a cash prize. Phi Delta Theta has sponsored these awards for the past four years.

    This award is named for Associate Professor Hank Nuwer, a long-time anti-hazing journalist and author of four books on the subject. He is also a former member of the board of directors for HazingPrevention.Org. Read more about Mr. Nuwer and his work.

    Nomination deadline for the 2013 Hank Nuwer Anti-Hazing Hero Awards is November 1, 2013. To nominate your candidate, complete and submit this online form prior to the deadline. 

    Four Selected for 2012 Anti-Hazing Hero Awards

    Sarah Wild is a Fraternity/Sorority Life graduate intern at State University of New York Plattsburg. After experiencing and witnessing hazing practices firsthand, Wild made a commitment to make sure no one else was subjected to hazing. “It’s the worst form of degradation,” said Wild. “My passion is hazing prevention because I believe it is something that’s undoubtedly present yet so secret among various student groups across the country. Gandhi once said, "Be the change you wish to see in the world," and that's just what I am trying to do.” Contact Wild at  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

    Jason Colombini is a member of Zeta Beta Tau Fraternity at California Polytechnic State Institute where he also serves as president of Cal Poly’s Interfraternity Council and Student Philanthropy Council. Four months after joining ZBT at Cal Poly, Colombini was elected brother development director and redesigned his chapter’s new member education program to focus on learning the fraternity’s history and what it means to be a member of the Greek community. He also met with new members one-on-one to create a relationship built on respect and develop individual plans for personal growth. “There is no place for hazing in fraternities or sororities, and I’m striving to eliminate hazing however I can,” said Colombini. Contact Colombini at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

    Michael W. Anderson is a member of Sigma Chi Fraternity at Western Illinois University. He also serves as WIU’s vice president of recruitment for the Interfraternity Council and vice president of Greeks Advocating the Mature Management of Alcohol (GAMMA). “I wanted to try and expand Greek life in more ways than just recruitment,” said Anderson, which is why he became an anti-hazing advocate. "I know the stereotype of Greek life is that you get hazed before you become a member of a fraternity or sorority, and I wanted to show people that this is simply not the case anymore. Greek life has so much more to offer," he said. Contact Anderson at  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

    Eric Vincent attends Elmhurst College in Elmhurst, Ill., where he is a member of Alpha Tau Omega Fraternity. “I never looked for accolades or honors when I acted the way I did,” said Vincent, who informed university officials after seeing new members from another Elmhurst fraternity being hazed. “I am a man of character and believe in doing what is right. I firmly believe that hazing does not bring people together; it tears them apart. Having received this award furthers my goals of ensuring the safety of others and not being afraid to defend others or myself.” Contact Vincent at  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .

    For more coverage and photos of this year's Hank Nuwer Anti-Hazing Hero Award recipients, click here. The 2012 Awards were sponsored by Phi Delta Theta Fraternity.

    2011 Winners 

    2010 Winners

    2009 Winners

    2008 Winners

    2007 Winners

Our Sponsors

Crown Commitment

Diamond Dedication

Platinum Promise

Platinum Level